Week 2 – 11/09/22

Context:

This week I assigned myself to edit my loop video and finish my voiceover. I planned to edit my video on premier pro and cap cut and post this video on the loop TikTok page. This was the first video, i needed to create for the loop , it was going to be based off the guerilla marketing of the 99p market stall the brand crtz did.

The target audience for these videos are potentially future students for Global Academy as well as my niche that appeals to an audience who are with pop culture and fashion culture.

Research

Technical research

There wasn’t any Initial research done at first but then I begun to look on the tiktok page and see what was working on the page and what I could bring to the table.

I found that tiktok works better when appealing to a niche audience and having the ability to capture that audience is key , for the type of content are producing.

In terms of the video i wanted to create something similar to a tiktok, i saw and really enjoy the video and thought it cover the topic perfectly.

The topic was something i could create to be simplicity and have many jump cuts of images of the brand and storytelling vibe. In order for that i used Premier Pro as it an industry standard software

My videos will be posted as Youtube shorts , which can be no longer than 60 seconds. here

This will allow our videos have more of a chance of being seen.

Tiktok is the most beneficial platform to post these videos on , as Tiktok whole foundation is built up on short and effective videos, so it will be best platform to post on.

Story research

Looking into the brand cortiez by browsing through their instagram to see the type of products they sold and what the whole brand represented.

Vogue Segment About Cortiez here

I used tiktok to gain most of my knowledge on the brand as there as hundreds of videos explaining what the brand represents.

Stylistic research

@alexeihamblin

How i’d start a clothing/streetwear brand in 2022 without having any money or budget to put in from the start #streetwear #streetwearbrands #fashiontok #fyp #xyzcba

♬ CUFF IT – Beyoncé
Took inspiration from videos of these formats

This is how I want my video to be styled as I’m going to be doing segment stories about why these topics had such a impact on the culture and why they was so successful. This is a prime example of how it going to be set up within the edits and voiceover. The stories are kept short and effective but detailed enough to keep viewers interested.

These videos a really causal and capture.

Problem Solving

There was a problem I faced with having no direction from my team , not being helped with when to post and what time & also not having “ the loop” logo to post.

I decided to change the format of my video to a full 60 second explanation video for one story. This was after talking to peers and scrolling on other pages on social media. This content is evergreen, with videos such as, the history of a dress or the rise of a famous designer or brand.

Most my problems this week lied within timing, because I struggled a lot with filming the video, I had to rerecord multiple times and, when recording I had too much headroom and had to zoom in a lot. This meant that the quality of the video went down substantially. The mic was also not centered, these are basic things that I need to watch out for when editing my videos later since, despite the problem being small it makes a big impact on the professionalism of the video I produce.

With the lack of communication I had to make my own additional thumbnail

Here are a few examples of videos that my contents aiming to be similar to and aim to be the same fast pace informative tiktok style video as these… 

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMF4pDyCj/

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMF4pBFUr/

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMF4pYC4t/

Planning and production

This week I didn’t really need to plan much as it was already pre- planned

Practical skills

Created a Thumbnail for my Video to post on my video , used the template I made for the loop.
Imported my voice over and backgrounding track with a combination of photos that included the brand cortiez

Leave a comment